HOT DEAL ALERT! Book an all-inclusive Transat package - Receive up to a $100 Gift Card & more. View offer.

The Club Barbados Resort & Spa

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • All Inclusive Features
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Overview
This intimate hotel is ideal for couples, honeymooners and singles seeking luxurious surroundings. Dining is a pleasure here, from the lavish breakfast buffets and four-course lunches to the afternoon teas and sumptuous dinners. There's even room service available for lunch and dinner. Pamper yourself with a visit to the spa for a massage or pedicure.
 
Location: 30 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport, 20 minutes to Bridgetown, and 5 minutes to Holetown.

tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • moggridge : Banbury, United Kingdom
Did not let us down

This was a good hotel. We were checked in quite quickly ( in fact our cocktail arrived just as we were being shown to our room). The room was good and big with large bed and excellent shower which had 2 heads. We were on the ground floor with covered terrace and close enough to the pool without being on top of it. We thought the food in the sunset restaurant was excellent and varied with very good staff although they were occasionally short of numbers. Reviews say the food is repetitive but in 11 nights we found something different most nights and the fish was great. The breakfast was excellent in fact we had to cut down after a couple of days because the lunch was good with again the fresh grilled fish superb. We only tried the other restaurant once it was ok but we were told the menu was always the same so we never bothered again. Excellent cocktails are available at all the bars. Yes the sunbeds are taken early but to be fair you want to be out early before breakfast and we always found beds under the trees which we wanted anyway. The 3 pools are fairly small but ok. The free water sports are an excellent idea and we twice tried reef fishing but no bites. Entertainment is at best mediocre. Day time activities were not great, we twice went on the early morning scenic walks but there was no sign of the historical tour of Holetown which was advertised. The disappointing thing is no beach. We knew this before we went although we were advised that access to adjoining beaches was easy but this was not the case due apparently to damage caused by the edge of the recent hurricane. Looking at the damage we were happy to not be housed in the sea view rooms located close by. This meant if you wanted to walk you needed to go out the main gate. During a couple of heavy storms sand bags were needed to hold back a bit of flooding. Overall this was a good value hotel for the money we paid but we may have been lucky it was not busy as it may well be a bit cramped when full. Wifi was very hit and miss in the sunset lounge but was excellent if you went to the reception lobby not sure why you should have to pay for it in your room.

  • Ray Y : Norton, Massachusetts, United States
They try hard - with only some success

Top to bottom the people who work here seem to care and try hard to make your stay as great as possible. I had no issue with any of the service except at check-out my request for a porter went unfullfilled and I just got them myself. Also no complaints about the food. Sunset Restaurant does breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner can sometimes be my menu. Enids Restaurant only does dinners and not all 7 nights. The food was very good and had local flavor (bajan) and also international (curry lamb I had twice). Three time during Enids and the menu at Sunset we became invisible.... and had to wait ~ 15 minutes for service between our main course and ordering desert. It was must more enjoyable being invisible in the AC of Enids versus the 70F dewpoint of Sunsets with no air movement. If you want a favorite spot at the pool or beach - wake up early. This is generally an older crowd and they don't sleep late in the morning. But you can generally get some spot any time you want (provided it it not near capacity). The three pool sections are small. You won't be doing laps. They are to cool off. Unless you indoors you will be cooling off. You can read the reviews on beach. Good snorkling. Bring underwater camera if you so inclined. Now the WTF. I want to have two strong drinks and reach my happy place. Then mix glasses of cold water and beer (or another drink) to kick back and relax. After 5 drinks I barely had a buzz. My friends and I watched and they are definitely good pours from the bottle. You can draw your own conclusions but we also noted we never saw a bottle being opened. I don't need the sugar (carbs) in those extra drinks and I'm note going to drink scotch just to get a buzz around lunch time. To get your beach towels you have to walk to the sports shack. The way from the beach is blocked off awaiting repair. Walk around thru the alley after a rain and the smell is of sewage and if barefeet the sludge will ooze thru your toes. Don't walk barefoot. We ended up saving three towels and drying them overnight for most of the week. The way to Sandy Lane beach is also under construction - along with spots along the seawall. Come-on and make some effort here!!The entertainment, except for the piano bar late night, was disappointing. I'm surprised there aren't more complaints about noise - given the crowd is generally older and goes to bed early. The outdoor entertainment does end @ 11 PM. Internet in the room was $10 a day. It was a bit week and they need improvements. Not just in internet but in infrastructure. We met some great people from the US and UK.

  • Sheepsplitter : Woking
OK, but nothing special unfortunately

Rooms are ok, resort is ok, food is ok, but 4 star this is not.However value for money I'd say it was very good, and my wife agrees (which is pretty unusual in itself!!).If you are looking for a cheap holiday with a controlled budget to Barbados, then All Inclusive is the only option really as eating out is expensive. Staff generally friendly. Drinks decidedly on the cheap side, cocktails knocked together from pre-mixes not constructed as they are in many bars.If you know what you are getting yourself into then it's not a bad deal, but it's not what we are used to.We'd go back and use it as a B&B and budget for eating out, because the location was good.

  • DJBigD : London, United Kingdom
Out of this World

Before I arrived at the hotel, I arranged for some flowers to be delivered, rose petals displayed on the bed, plus a bottle of Prosecco. Well....the hotel didn't disappoint. A big thanks to Troy for arranging this for me, as my girlfriend was over the moon. I found the staff very friendly, welcoming and funny. Reading some of the negative comments are laughable, when you go to another country/Island, learn about their culture, don't moan on here, if there's a problem, get it sorted there, not on here. People complain, expecting a free holiday. It was my girlfriend first visit to the island, and she thoroughly enjoyed herself, she was even learning about their culture, even though I'm half bajan.

  • EandJ98 : Mobile, Alabama
Needs and overhaul--all over

I read tons of reviews before we went the beginning of Oct., so I knew that it wasn't going to be perfect, but was optimistic. We were redirected here when Irma hit our original destination.Check in was quick and easy; everyone was pleasant. We had an ground floor oceanfront suite, which was clean and comfortable. Our friends were on a higher floor, and they said the stairs were cockeyed and for tiny feet. Also note that their extra room was outdoors; ours was inside. The A/C worked fine our entire stay. The bathroom was clean but dated, sort of like the whole resort.The staff is definitely hot or cold. I laughed at our waitress when she gave us an eyeroll for ordering iced coffee; then she laughed too. I never had any problem getting drinks in restaurants. Water, wine, rum, all flowing freely. Many servers were excellent and friendly. We also never had any trouble getting a seat or making a reservation for the time we wanted. We ate out twice at night (and no one got mad at us for not eating there, as in other reviews). The ladies with the book were very sweet when I cancelled our reservations.The female beach bartender is definitely hostile. This has been reviewed so many times. The management clearly doesn't care or they would have fired her or made her change her attitude. The other bartenders were very friendly.The food is of decent quality, that's it. Breakfast is the best, with eggs, pancakes, waffles cooked to order by a very nice lady. There are also buffet items/bread/fruit etc. The omelette station is run by a fierce, rude woman who I saw yell at two customers in one morning, roll her eyes at most of them, and generally made people feel like a real pain for simply ordering breakfast. She does, however, make a good omelette.As for lunch and dinner buffets, there is plenty of food, but the lunch buffet was sometimes not what you wanted or not well prepared. For example, there was a tasty lamb with brown sauce one day, but the meat was cooked into jerky. Or one day there was noodle pie and a Indian vegetable dish. They just didn't go together. The "sumptuous" burgers are like mushy pre-made frozen Bubba Burgers in the US, and the burger lady yelled at me for asking if I should touch the buns or let her. LET HER. Haha she might have been the omelette lady doing lunch. Al a carte dinner was ok at Sunset restaurant, but even the extra $50 for steak or lamb just wasn't that good. Enid's has the same menu every night. And the menu was limited. However, the A/C was very welcome.If you go on an excursion and arrive back at the resort hungry because you missed lunch, you can order a light lunch/snack near the restaurant. We did one day, and our server was clearly bothered by our needing this service. But I will say the Caesar chicken salad wrap was pretty good!After 5 days, my husband refused to have any more meals on site, not because it was horrible, he was just sick of it. We went out and had some great meals elsewhere. One afternoon in the water looking back at the resort with its broken walls on either side fenced up of the property, (which have been that way a long time according to other reviewers) the sinkhole taped off in the middle of the sandy area, and the shingles missing on small parts of the roof, my husband said "I bet some family ran this place well, then couldn't keep up with all the work it needed, and sold or leased it to a management company who is doing just enough to keep it going without major expense." Now that we are home, there is a recent review stating that they used to visit this place when a family ran it, and how much better it was then. If you read the management's responses to anything negative, you will see that they have little interest in improvements. They just say they are sorry you didn't enjoy their great this or that, and that they get so many compliments... like you just don't know what good food is, are wrong about rude employees, peeling paint, etc. They say they will address concerns with employees or other problems, but obviously that is not the case because nothing changes. I would like to actually know how long the broken walls have been sitting there with fences blocking the way to water sports? A week, a month, years?

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD)if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Hotel transfers for packages with WestJet to USA (with exception to Honolulu)
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature

  • 3 meals daily plus snacks
  • Room service
  • Christmas and New Year's Gala Dinners
  • All drinks (International brands, Domestic beer, House Wine, 10am-2am)
  • Sailing
  • Sunfish Sailing
  • Catamarans
  • Windsurfing
  • Kayaking
  • Pedal Boat
  • Snorkeling
  • Waterskiing
  • Banana Boat Rides
  • Introductory scuba diving lesson
  • Tennis with instruction
  • Golf green fees and mandatory golf carts
  • Volleyball
  • Sauna
  • Exercise classes (Aerobics, Cardiovascular workout, Step aerobics, Water aerobics)
  • Daily activities
  • Evening entertainment
  • Manager's cocktail party
  •  161 rooms in seven 3-storey buildings.
  • 1 buffet restaurant
  • 161 Rooms
  • Buffet and a la carte restaurants (Reservations required, dress code)
  • 2 bars
  • Evening entertainment
  • 3 outdoor pools, free form
  • 1 lit tennis court on-site
  • Shopping on-site (Souvenir gift shop)
  • Sauna
  • Fitness facilities (fee)
  • Exercise classes
  • Scuba diving nearby (fee)
  • A range of watersports available
  • Beauty salon (fee)
  • Spa (fee)
  • WiFi in lobby
Hotel rooms include:
  • 1 king or 2 twin beds
  • A/C
  • Ceiling fan
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • In-room safe
  • Full Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Coffee/tea maker
  • Max occupancy 2
Poolview Deluxe Room has same as above & Balcony or Patio.

Oceanview Deluxe Room has same as above & Balcony or Patio with ocean view.
Wedding Bonus! - Please inquire for details.

Early Booking Bonus - This hotel may offer early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Resort Location Map


  • The Club Barbados Resort & Spa
    Bridgetown,Barbados

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Saint James Beach Barbados

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.