Melia Jardines del Rey

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • All Inclusive Features
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Kids
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Overview
The beautiful Meliá Jardines del Rey in Cayo Coco is artfully designed to mimic a traditional sugar plantation. The 1176 room all inclusive beautifully fuses new and old, with ultra modern amenities and bungalows that provide spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. A standout is the boulevard that stretches from the lobby to the beach, where guests will find the hotel's main attractions, including restaurants, activities, handicraft stalls and more.
Location: Flamenco Beach; approximately 15 km from the Cayo Coco airport.

tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • dee30e : Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Great Holiday

Would I stay here again? Yes most definitely, now let me explain why.We stayed here from 25/6/17 for 2 weeks, we booked two rooms as our party was made up of myself, my husband, our 16 year old daughter and her friend. On arrival we were all taken into a side room for a mini meeting, we were given a drink, our room keys and given the opportunity to change some cash which we did. After the meeting we were directed to our building which was block 26, room 26202 and 26214. The block is right next to the lobby bar, in my opinion ideally located, once there we were met by the porter who brought our luggage to our rooms.The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and cleaned daily, there is a safe, hair dryer, plenty of storage for clothing and a fridge which was stocked every day with water beer and fizzy pop. We split our time mainly between the east pool and the beach. The pool was ok but it's main selling point was you can use wifi by the pool. The pool bar staff were really friendly and the drinks were cold. The pool bar restaurant serves chips, hot dogs and burgers 24 hrs a day so even the pickiest of eaters wont go hungry.Now i'm not a beach person but this beach converted me its beautiful, unspoilt and worth getting up early for a walk before breakfast. The beach isn't fine powder sand and can be rough to walk on but it honestly didn't bother me, the water is crystal clear and warm, there are various water sports available along the beach, a beach bar and a restaurant.The beach bar can get busy so its worth buying a thermal travel cup to fill up so your not up and down every five minutes for drinks it will also stop you getting sand in your drink.The beach restaurant in my opinion was the best for lunch, lots of choice from pizza, fresh fish, various meats, salad bar etc. We used the main buffet for breakfast and some nights for dinner it was always stocked and restocked with lots of choice but gets very busy. We also ate at the restuarants and enjoyed what was served. The main lobby bar gets busy and tends to run out of things but it wasnt an issue i just changed what i was drinking to what was available, when there's entertainment on the bar is busy but does tends to quieten down once the entertainment finishes at 11pm. We only did a couple of excursions, the Catamaran and The Cave party both are a must in my opinion both were great. I could go on and on but all in all we had a great time at this hotel beautiful place with friendly helpful staff who cant do anough for you, we will definitely return.

  • DonHenley : Herefordshire UK
Disappointed

My husband and myself stayed from 8th March to 22nd, our room was nice, clean and spacious and in a good location, the hotel is modern and generally tidy, the cleaners work tirelessly to keep the hotel clean and tidy. The beach is stunning, we stayed on the beach most days. The bistro a la Carte was by far the best restaurant with good service and tasty food. However we found the food at the buffet restaurants to be at the best warm and at times cold and in our opinion there is no excuse not to be serving hot food guests, the food came from the kitchen cold and was therefore unappealing, we mentioned this to the restaurant staff as did others to no avail. The cushion covers on the seats at the buffet on the veranda were dirty throughout the two weeks never appearing to be washed, somewhat unhygienic. The sea food restaurant by the beach in the evening was a disaster, we waited for a long time to be shown to our table due to being understaffed, the food was basic and unappealing and cold. We only used the pool once and from a distance the pool looks stunning however when you go for a swim you soon realise that the sides of the pool and the bar stools at the pool bar were covered in algae totally unacceptable and something that management need to do something about. The hotel is very large and appears that it's difficult to run smoothly with so many guests however with better staff training and better management the resort could be a better place to stay. The majority of the staff are happy, courteous and more than helpful yet a few spoil this by being rude and unhelpful and shrugging their shoulders when asked a question or given a complaint. There is a general excuse used throughout the hotel that ‘It’s Cuba or that as we are not on the mainland so it is difficult for them’, we were given this excuse when asking for extra pillows (as we were only given one each) however 2 extra pillows were bought to our room. Getting change from the bureau de change was almost impossible and the man serving was rude and unhelpful and looked bored and uninterested. The staff at reception were more helpful when they had change to give however this was hit and miss which is a shame as the change is for tips. The lady in the ridiculously small shop was rude and unhelpful, she would carry on her conversation on the phone while serving you. However there is a larger shop just outside the hotel by the market,Japanese restaurant and spar.We visited Lenny’s bar and grill (a taxi ride away) we felt this was well worth a visit.I did message and email the hotel with my concerns back in March as I didn’t want to leave negative feedback without contacting them beforehand, however all though they have acknowledged my message I have not had a reply from the manager as promised to date.

  • MartaM285 : Laval, Canada
Modern family resort with nice beach and service

We went to Cuba many time - this is one of the best family resorts we visited. If you have kids or grand kids you would enjoy it. Our room was modern and clean, pools had good entertainment for everyone, food was abundant and varied. Our preferred dining place was the restaurant by the beach for breakfast or lunch. We also enjoyed coconut ice cream and fresh coconuts with rum. What we did not like was the entertainment for the New Year eve - it was not appropriate for young children. In general the adult entertainment was poor. Beside the jazz quintet in the lobby and some dancing music by the bar there was not much of quality. That's why is only 4 stars.

  • sebastianbubb11 : Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Honest Review - Not a 5 star hotel

I travelled to Cuba with my wife for our honeymoon. I am going to give a honest review but at the same time bare in mind that this is Cuba and not Las Vegas, so keep in mind this hotel may not have the same standards when it comes to food quality etc.Service:I found the service from the staff members to be 50/50, there were some really nice members of staff that were very heavy handed when pouring our drinks and I liked that when compared to going out in England where most alcoholic drinks are measured out. However I found that some of the staff were dismissive, and had a shoulder shrug mentality. Food & Drink:I understand that this is Cuba and I wasn't expecting Michelin star standard of food, however seeing dead crickets on my spoon, watered down wine(tasted like it) and chicken that was completely red inside indicating it was not cooked properly, I then started to think this place isn't all its cracked up to be. The day before we were due to leave I ended up having severe stomach cramps and vomiting and I believe this was due to the food. Rooms:The room in my opinion was a 4/10. We had an ant infestation in our bed and when we complained about it, they mentioned that because this is Cuba there's nothing they can do because most of the rooms probably had the same and I get that, they cant control where insects go since it is in a very heavily forest dense area. Entertainment:Since there wasn't much to do on the island and in order for you to do something you pretty much have to book an excursion, we pretty much sat at the bar or pool all day and that was a bit boring after a while. Entertainment was actually ok. We thought the men and women that performed almost every night were talented, however when they had finished performing and were walking around the hotel, they had a really bad attitude, almost like they were better than everyone else. My wife and I brought them a bottle of wine to say well done and they look at us and barely said thank you then they said something in their language and they all started laughing. I walked embarrassed. However I don't know what they said so I can't fully judge. Beach:Going to Playa Pila beach was the highlight of my holiday as it was such a beautiful beach with a paradise feel to it. I ended up sleeping in the sun for 4 hours, of course when I woke up I paid the price as I was sun burnt from head to toe but that's another story lol.Tours: We snorkelled which was great as the tour guides were friendly informative and had a laugh with us. I took pictures with a barracuda and got to see many fish. We also did a tour of mainland Cuba and this was a bit weird because even though we appreciate the hard work of the guy that showed us around I felt a bit uneasy when he pulled up at his house to drop planks of wood off to his wife. It was nice to meet his family but I was on edge following this as I felt like he could go off whenever and wherever he wanted without any of the officials or hotel reps knowing. Don't get me wrong he was a nice enough guy.So overall its a beautiful place but I don't have a lot of good things to say about the hotel and the staff and I believe Thomas Cook are no longer flying to that hotel in 2018 so come to your own conclusion.I hope this review was firm but fair.

  • beckyNpaul : London, United Kingdom
Beautiful cuba

We had an amazing holiday here we arrived end of august for 2weeks stay (which was cut short as we were moved due to hurricane Irma) we had a fab 11 days here our room was lovely it was clean and comfortable and the air con was fab, we had a fridge that had water and soft drinks and beer it was re stocked but not daily. TV had a few good channels for the kids and films just while we were getting ready. The pool areas are fab never have to fight for a bed whatever time you arrive perfect for children as they are mostly quite shallow, the pool bars are good and the snack bars too, the ice cream hut was fab especially the coconut! The beach is the most amazing beach we have ever been on white sand crystal clear warm water just beautiful plenty of beds on the beach too and watersports included we got on the glass bottom boat one day from the beach and went snorkelling on the beach which was good fun but not free, the buffet restaurant is lovely and cool and good food but having been to Cuba before we knew it would be very samey, there are plenty of a la carte restaurants so you can mix it up a bit, all the staff are very happy and friendly and great with the children, we got the hop on hop off open top bus a few times which is good fun nice things to see and lots of flamingos, we got it to the dolphinarium as Thomas cook don't do that trip so easy to do yourselves we went to playa Pilar too but to be honest its no different from the hotel beach but a trip out none the less we found the Thomas cook trips quite expensive when there are 4 of you. Take plenty of mosi spray as we did get bitten alive and we also needed a suncream which we had to get the bus to the shopping centre for its very expensive so make sure you have enough as the hotel don't sell it, mosi spray they sell but its also expensive, there are stalls and shops just next door in plaza flamingo and a bowling alley which we never got to use in the end, WiFi is payable by the hour and is good in the lobby and round one pool, I can honestly say after everything that happened to us before the hurricane we had forgotten some of what we did but can say we will definitely return one day and hope that everyone was safe and that the hotel is back up and running at its best soon.

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Resort fees (if applicable) must be paid directly to the hotel
  • Hotel transfers for packages to USA
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature
  • Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Unlimited alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks
  • a la carte dinners (3/week, dress code in effect)
  • Daily activities program
  • Non-motorized water sports
  • Kids' Club
  • Tennis
  • Service of a representative at destination
  • Beverages and snacks
  • 1176 Rooms
  • 3 pools
  • 7 restaurants
  • 5 bars
  • Fitness center
  • Playground
  • Convenience Store 
  • WiFi available in lobby (fee)
  • Doctor on site (fee)
  • Laundry services (fee)
  • Currency exchange
Hotel Room includes:
  • 1 King or 2 Twin beds
  • Satellite TV
  • Mini-bar (replenished daily with water, soft drinks and beer)
  • Coffee/tea maker
  • Iron & Ironing board
  • Hair dryer
  • Room service (fee)
  • In-room safe
  • 220/110v (adapter/transformer required)
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Air-conditioned 
  • Maximum Occupancy 4: maximum 3 adults, maximum 2 children
Kids Deal - Kids 2-11 pay a special rate when sharing with 2 adults. Maximum 2 kids per room.
For the Kids - Kids' Club (ages 4 to 8) and Baby Club (ages 0 to 3). Kids menu, Pool, Playground  and Babysitting (for a fee).
Honeymoon Bonus - Please inquire for more details. Request at time of booking.
Early Booking Bonus - This hotel may offer early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Resort Location Map


  • Melia Jardines del Rey
    Cayo Coco,Cuba

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
Melia Jardines del Rey
Playa Flamenco Cuba

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.