Pestana Cayo Coco
- What's Included
- All Inclusive Features
We visited this hotel from 16 Nov for 2 weeks.We enjoyed our time here, lovely beach and crystal clear waters although they had just extended it so was not as shallow and calm as expected. Lovely friendly staff especially the 2 girls in the lobby that served the lovely cappuccinos on a morning and the lovely Annie in the buffet to name a few.Food was fine always found something to eat, breakfast was lovely especially the bacon and scrambled eggs, a good choice at all mealtimes.Tried all 3 a la cartes and they were all lovely. Wine was offered in all restaurants and was good quality and cava was always available in the bars and at breakfast too if you wanted a Buck's Fizz.Loved the pina coladas at the beach bar.Room was always cleaned to a good standard, towels changed every day and cleaner always left some form of towel art on bed, some made us laugh.Entertainment was the usual you get in the Caribbean but we knew what to expect, lobby was nice to sit and relax in, very airy.All entertainment was cancelled in second week due to the death of Fidel so there was 9 days of mourning, so this was no fault of hotel and understood so just one of those things.It did make our second week pretty boring on a night but again no fault of hotel as this affected every hotel.We didn't have high expectations as was just a cheap and cheerful break in the sun and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Pestana. For the price we paid it was fine, not 5 star by any means but we had no problems and enjoyed our time here.Would we return again? Yes
Me and my husband were unable to travel on our summer holiday and chose to travel in the winter and what better destination than Cuba (great weather and excellent prices).As a travel agent with 22 years service and selling the Pestana chain for a number years I really thought we would be fine, I was aware that this was a new hotel and had only opened in 2013 but come off it what a joke ‘SHAME ON YOU PESTANA’As far as the resort and rooms to us it was fine we had a family adjacent (2 rooms) I was advised they had no interconnecting rooms and would be separate but having spoken to a couple of families they had said they had interconnecting, wasn’t really a problem for us but with families with smaller children you wouldn’t want to have them on their own. We also had no water for 2 days and really when this is working it is a trickle you will not experience a normal shower I found it easier to run a bath.The grounds of the hotel were lovely and kept very well the guys were out every day cutting hedges and grass and keeping it clean and tidy.The beach is absolutely stunning (white sand and blue sea) this really is a perfect Caribbean beach and we spent a lot of time down there collecting shells, exploring and walking.FOODI honestly don’t know where to start here on the first few nights we kind of excepted it and thought it would be OK but as time went on it just got worse. I find it difficult looking at green beans, carrots, meat balls and fajitas (mixed meats) for breakfast.Dinner time was just as bad with a mix of beef stews, rabbit stews and fish, they had rice with fried eggs on top which had all been broken and mixed in with the rice, they had a fresh meats selection where you could choose what you wanted and have it cooked to your liking (awful) the meat was thin, chewy and fatty and not even edible.We ended up living off chips and ice cream, we tried the snack bar a few times but what snack bar has no burgers???? YEP NO BURGERS FOR THREE DAYSOn the last two night’s my son was taken ill and ended up in hospital being on a drip due to him being so sick (22 hours straight) on the last day my husband and son went for lunch before the coach turned (I refused to eat anything after watching what my younger son went through) my husband and older son are currently in bed with sickness and have not been out of bed since we have returned (I am fine).ENTERTAINMENTIf you like to learn Salsa then go this was the same very night an hour of salsa maybe a singer or musician then the show… THE SHOW what can I say it was the same a load of people dancing in glamor, glittery clothes. We ended up going back to the room approx. 19:00/20:00 every evening as playing cards and watching movies was far better.When Fidel Castro passed they stopped all entertainment (day and night) and went on 9 days mourning I get their leader had passed but you are on a family resort and can’t do that us in the UK do not go on totally shut down for a number of days, we wans’t able to buy any alcohol either (I wanted some Havana to take home as it is so cheap)STAFFA few people have mentioned the attitude of the staff they are correct some of them really are not helpful at all and are rude but we was lucky enough to have meet some lovely members of the staff YOAN (evening bar staff) is so lovely he really made us feel welcome and my boys loved him.Ladies in the shop it don’t cost anything to smile and turn off the TV when children are around my kids didn’t need to hear F words whilst looking around. The shop has small amount of things a few floats (balls, arm bands etc, peanuts, toiletries and cigars (no sun creams so take plenty) The staff in the main restaurant were lovely and really cannot complain about them, I found other guests from other countries to be very rude towards the staff and I think if they are spoken to like that they expect that everyone is like it but we showed them courtesy, please and thank you’s (which again cost nothing) and we found them to be lovely and they really did engage with my children giving them high fives which became a game on who could get the most in a day.TIPPINGThis has been mentioned a few times and arrival our cases were taken to our room and when we got there they were waiting for us when they put the luggage in the rooms they stood in the door way with their hands behind their backs looking at me!!! I explained I had no Cuban Pesos yet and he said that’s fine I will except sterling (I only had £20 notes on me) I said I hadn’t even got that yet and wouldn’t till the next day, he simply tutted at me and ranted to his mate next to him (RUDE and ARROGANT) so my advise would be to take your own cases.On arrival and getting your keys you are left to look for your own room and I will advise the resort isn’t lit up very well and is dark and there are approx. 10 blocks.My advise would be to only tip if you are having table service within the bars as this can be a good advantage when you’re having a few drinks they will remember your order and just bring them over when they see your empty or if the bar is busy, we only tipped 1-3 pesos at a time and this was greatly received.We also tipped on excursions (catamaran and dolphins) a note for the dolphins this is an amazing experience but as a tip they can’t down load any photos or video footage to an Iphone so they charge 45 Cuban Pesos to have it all on a stick that’s if you want to have this as a memory (20 Cuba Pesos just for a small photo) As I am an agent and have the luxury of doing hotel inspections all over the world I kept saying to myself I have been spoilt but it was simple things that just wans’t right and I was not the only one complaining about certain things no one seemed to be happy.Overall we had a lovely break and made it the best as we could for the children I would certainly return to the Cayo Coco but the PESTANA NOT A CHANCE I also love how the people that put good responses on here get a reply from the hotel.Sort it out….
1* only because I had to rate or it would get nothing. I would urge people not to visit this hotel if travelling to Cuba. I went along with 6 other family members including my 5 year old son, 2 female cousins celebrating their 18 and 21st birthdays.To start - we paid £140 per person for priority guest club, the only service we received from that was a reserved pool area. Waste of my well earned money. No VIP check in with cocktail.. Everyone got Same check in and cocktail, No sea view, no waiter service except 1 day and EVERYONE got waiter service. Mini bar was stocked as and when they felt like it however the stuff put into the fridge was from bar which we already paid for in all inclusive.My aunt went for a pedicure and was supposed to receive 10% discount as she was priority guest but the excuse given was "it's not available with French polish".. 20 peso is rather expensive for cheap nail polish. The equipment used was not sterilised or cleaned. I walked out refusing to get one after what I witnessed.Priority invite for dinner and premiumDrinks on Saturday.. This was simply a section of same restaurant with same drinks as any other night.Ants in the room.. Not just 1 or 2 .. A full army. I reported this on a. Umber of occasions and they said they would put spray down however the maid said they don't have spray ... Disgusting . In my bed, clothes and crawling over anything I laid down. My son dropped a small bit of crisp and it was swarming with ants that I killed and it took 2 days and 3 visits to reception to complain for it to be cleaned. With the ants issue the staff still insisted on putting uncovered caked into our room at night while we where out and in our return they where covered in ants. Again it took 3-4 visits to reception asking for it to stop before it actually stopped.Hotel rooms dirty and not cleaned for being a 4*. My bathroom was cleaned once during my 14 night stay. Shower was full of rust tiles mouldy and soap and towel holder all water marks due to lack of cleaning.Food was cold, undercooked at times and resided. My aunt had the previous nights pasta in her breakfast that she didn't notice till she was half was through her breakfast.My son lived on chips and ice cream the entire holiday and we ate mostly from the snack bar. Not something you expect when paying over £7000 to go to a "4* hotel"1 full week wasted by constant complaints to Thomas cook rep ( who was a great help) and to reception who where not so great. In the end we asked to speak to the manager ( director) and he was rude, arrogant and was shouting at us and not allowing us to speak refusing to accept any complaint and did not as much offer an apology. He then stalked us the rest of the holiday following and watching us everywhere we went. My 18 and 21 year old cousins where frightened to go anywhere on their own because of him. Second week lead to the death of the ex president which was 9 days national mourning. This meant all entertainment was cancelled. No music and nothing to do for the full second week. On our last night after the 2 weeks from hell we sat in the snack bar with some music playing from a mobile phone so not very loud while playing a family game of cards, and the next thing we knew there where 8 male members of staff around our table intimidating us telling us to get music off.Needless to say I will take my complaint to Thomas cook and as far as the regulator if need be. Awful place to go and we have never been so happy to leave for home.
Many thanks to Poll, Alex, Naryarit and Lisanndra from the animation team. Annie in the buffet at night and Ahmel around the pool. You all made our vacation great!There were many others as we had fantastic interaction with all the staff.We can't wait to get back and see them all again. I undertand why so many people have been back to Pestana on numerous occasions.
Mouldy mustey room cold food most off staff really nice brochure of Thomas Cook out off date beach work well health and safety gone mad so dangerous vidiod it .lots of people poorly no hand wash toilet paper limited ladies toilets 3 out of 5 locked one evening overherd a English lady talking to the hotel management a small smart looking guy with a taller man obviously bosses he spoke to her terrible and talked down to her her. family had been really poorly another lady we met had loads of mossiy bites vomiting runs plus no hot water for 2 days our opinion was very poor compered with other carrabian resorts one waiter cept our spirit s up in lobby bar Juan I believe you should get him to train your staff he was brilliant regardless of tips some buffet staff were rood we actually cleared our own tables along with another British couple for us and only based on our travel experience s very poor needs massive improvements hot food and hand sanitation everywhere 4 star no Internet slow the buggies down plz get rid of mould in rooms
Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).
If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.
Items not included:
- Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
- Tourist cards ($10USD)if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
- Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
- Hotel transfers for packages with WestJet to USA (with exception to Honolulu)
- Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
- Items of a personal nature
- Breakfast, Lunch and dinner daily
- 2 a la carte dinners per week (reservations required)
- Selection of domestic & international drinks
- Daily sports & activity program
- Non-motorized water sports
- Nightly entertainment
- Mini Club
- 508 Rooms
- 2 Swimming pools, including kids pool
- 4 Bars
- 1 buffet and 3 a la carte restaurants
- Beach grill
- Snack bar
- Conference facilities
- Business centre
- WiFi (fee) (in lobby area only)
- Tennis courts (lit)
- Fitness facilities
- Spa (fee)
- Beauty salon (fee)
- Games room
- Table tennis
- Medical service (fee)
- Air conditioned
- 1 king or 2 3/4 beds
- Cable TV
- Hair dryer
- Mini Fridge
- Balcony or terrace
- Safety deposit box
Resort Location Map
Pestana Cayo CocoCayo Coco,Cuba
- Hotel Contacts
- Extra Info
Carretera Cayo Guillermo, km 9 1/2, 69400 Cuba
Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.
Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.
Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.
Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.
Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.