Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • All Inclusive Features
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Kids
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Overview
This hotel, built in 1999, is adjacent to its sister property, the Viva Dominicus Beach, so guests can use the facilities of both properties. This opens up a vast array of possibilities for watersports, activities and dining options - there are seven restaurants between the two properties. Viva Dominicus Palace - already a solid favourite with Canadians - is ideal for families and couples looking for a relaxed and secluded setting. The beach is spectacular and the impeccably landscaped, grounds are lush with exotic flowers.
 
Location: Beachfront, 20 minutes from the La Romana Airport, 20 minutes to the town of La Romana, and approximately 90 minutes from Punta Cana airport.

tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • Pedro Z : Washington DC, District of Columbia
Friendly staff, good food and noisy beach. Average rooms. Good value for cost, but just barely.

Travelled to this hotel in early november, with wife and 7 month old baby.First room we were given was terrible. Old, dirty and on the fourth floor of a building where elevator didn't work (we had a stroller, so this was a problem).After reporting the problem to hotel management, and inquiring about how to get money back, the hotel responded very well, and they deserve credit for this. We were changed to a much better room, and got sent a bottle of wine. New room was larger and on the floor level, which made it much easier.About 80% of the staff we encountered was helpful and friendly, with shining examples like Raul, who runs the lobby coffee bar, or Francisco, a waiter at the Yuca buffet. They, and a few others were friendly and helpful all the time. There were, however, some staff who appeared plain annoyed that we were there, like the attendant at the smaller of the gyms.Our overall experience was positive. The food at the hotel was very good, and varied. We never had trouble with reservations, but that could be due to always wanting the earliest spot available, on account of baby.The beach is beautiful, but unfortunately is quite noisy with animation and music that is super loud. There is a small section where you can hide from the noise, but it limits the beach options a lot.The other negative was the constant approached by Viva Wyndham staff that wanted us to go to some presentation to sell us things we were not interested in. Happily, this stopped after we complained to management.Overall it was good value, and we ended up having a very good time, but in future trips, we will probably not return to this hotel.

  • Jean Carlo T :
Vacations viva palace Bayahibe Dominican republic

I stayed with my family at this hotel, actually this was my 2nd time at this place. Overall the food is nice the are a variety of menus,restaurants to chose from, the beach is one of the most beautiful that i ever seen before, it is very clean and theres a lot of activities to do once you get there.The entertainment team or animation group should hire more locals, i mean more Dominicans i found it was a little too poor on this trip, after that the employees are always looking to help and serve you with a big smile, again i have no complains, the only issue i had was with my room but lucky us a young lady from customer service Leany Silvestre took care of it inmidiactly!Is because of her that we will be back next year. She did an excelent job!

  • Hector M :
GOOD EXPERIENCE

I visited quite some resorts in the Dominican Republic and this one was good but they have to make changes , in the rooms , the variety of the activities inside the hotels , the restaurants and most important some of their staff , my top member of the staff is Ms. Leany Silvestre she was Wonderfull , very good manners ,very sociable , she's AMAZING.

  • Velesha B : Dublin, Ireland
The beach was the only nice thing about this place

So, I stayed at the Dominicus Beach and quickly learned that with this property you had access to the entire Viva Wyndham Village. Beaches/Food The hotel is divided into the French quarter, international (American and everyone non European), Village/Timeshare style people and Italians on one end (which is Dominicus Beach).The French Quarter area offers more villa style rooms. The international sections offers more modern style rooms and some villas that are ocean front as well. Along with VIP areas/lounge, trapeze, a few restaurants and its own set of pools. This area is a bit quieter depending on where you are. We tried the Mediterranean restaurant here and were disappointed by the lack of quality in the food. Further down was Atlantis (this offered non-prefixed items that you had to pay for if you wanted) again nothing to write home about. International area: this area offers a pool, more villas and modern style rooms as well. It offers a larger buffet but the food quality was terrible at this location. There is loud music at the pools along with bar and a beach in this area. This beach fills up fast so you will have to save your seats early on. We avoided this beach area because it was so crowded. This section had more stores, for photos, gifts/pharmacy, clothes etc. Timeshare/VIP housing sections: this area had varying degrees of rooms. Some even had hammocks inside of the room and many were beachfront/ocean view. This section also had the disco which was under repair, archery and another restaurant (al la carte dining option). There is a pool in this section as well and the beach at this area is much better for swimming. There are less rocks and it was easier to walk on out pretty far without feeling like you were in the water too deep. This area had the many different activities you can sign up for such as sailing, paddle boarding etc The Italian Section: This is a mixture of rooms that offer beach front and non-beach front options. The buffet here is smaller but the food quality is much better. They offer a Asian Fusion a la carte dining but it wasn’t anything to write home about. The buffet offered better food. The main lobby also offered snack (light) and espresso and other coffees which was nice. Free Wi-Fi was upstairs but it was bad difficult to get a good signal. Its 25 dollars a day for Wi Fi the strength was good. Please note there is an area on this section of the beach where it opens up to the locals. While they do not cross onto the hotel property. Hotel guests can walk over to this area it is wide open. There are a few shops and restaurants down here. However, it is enter at your own risk. The beach here is filled with garbage. You will see hotel staff walking around all over the beach and security as well. So, you do feel safe while at the resort. This area also had some stores in the resort as well for clothes, jewelry, pharmacy, rum, cigars, cigarettes. There is a pool in this area of the hotel as well it is fairly large and a bar/snack area is next to it. Room: The room we stayed in looked like the pictures upon entrance. It was clean and smelled nice. However, note these rooms don’t have a head board but the walls are made to seem like they are head boards. What made this trip bad for me is that the rooms kept, smelling like mold next to the beds. The bathroom was large but also needed renovations. We noticed they were doing construction in the same area. The noise didn’t bother us as it was during the day. The room itself was at a great location so I can’t complain about that. We were right next to the beach the VIP section next to the International Café location on the beach (which has a hot tub) and day beds next to it. Spa: it is available but the prices are in USD and it is overpriced. You can get a fish pedicure which is basically putting your feet in a tub with a bunch of fish to have them nibble on you. Lots of places to get massages on the beach. Bottom Line: If this place really renovated and changed things and offered more quality food choices I would stay here. However, it looks like it might be some time before that happens. Service: When were first arrived it was nice they showed us around told us about the hotel etc. However, note this is because they want you to do a time share meeting. We flat out told them no thanks. They still tried to get us to join but I said no and that was that. Just be aware of this as it can be annoying dealing with sales folks taking away from your time vacation.FYI: most of the staff does not speak English except for a few of them. This can be a problem if you don't know Spanish or another language. Also, you cannot make a la carte reservations the first night you arrive.

  • Vincent M :
VERY UNACCOMMODATING STAFF / POORLY RUN HOTEL

I would like to start off with the fact they (staff) was not going to give us the room we requested. We had to fight for our King sized bed we have reserved. From there it was nearly impossible to make reservations for dinner. Mind you we were there for five days, they insist on the first day of arrival you can not make a dinner reservation. Also can not make it days in advance , they say you have to make it early in the morning. So the next day we tried to make a reservation for a special restaurant early in the am and they said they were full....wtf so after pleading our case and telling them we would report this incident they miraculously found reservations for the remainder of the nights. BTW while we had a chance to go to the special restaurant they were no where near full..... Im guessing they would rather you eat at the limited mediocre BUFFET. A complete disaster on many levels ,im hoping the owner ,manager ,general manager see this and re evaluate their Staff. Stay away , no one speaks any English so if you are not fluent in Spanish bring a translator. Stay away

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Resort fees (if applicable) must be paid directly to the hotel
  • Hotel transfers for packages to USA
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature
  • 3 meals daily plus snacks
  • Room service
  • Christmas and New Year's Gala Dinners
  • All drinks (International brands, Domestic beer, House Wine)
  • Sailing
  • Sunfish Sailing
  • Windsurfing
  • Kayaking
  • Waterpolo
  • Introductory scuba diving lesson
  • Tennis with instruction
  • Volleyball
  • Soccer
  • Archery
  • Sauna and Massage
  • Exercise classes (Aerobics)
  • Dance lessons
  • Daily activities
  • Evening entertainment
  • Disco
  • 330 rooms in twelve 3-storey buildings
  • 1 buffet restaurant and 5 a la carte restaurants (International, Italian, Oriental)
  • 3 bars including Lobby bar, Pool bar, Beach bar
  • Disco on-site
  • 1 outdoor pool, free form
  • Meeting facilities
  • Shopping on-site (Souvenir gift shop)
  • Sauna
  • Steamroom
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness facilities
  • Tennis courts
  • Exercise classes Scuba diving on-site (fee)
  • Dive shop on-site
  • A range of watersports available
  • Beauty salon (fee)
  • Spa (fee)
All accommodations include:
  • Air-conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • In-room safe (fee)
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Full Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini-fridge
Superior Room has 1 king or 2 queen beds.

Oceanfront Room has 1 king and 2 queen beds.

Kids Deal - Kids 3-17 pay a special price when sharing room with 2 adults.

For the Kids - Kids 4 to 12 enjoy supervised activities daily at the Kids' club, Babysitting service (fee), Playground, Games room, Kids' pool.

Honeymooners - Receive room upgrade (if available at check-in), fruit basket, bottle of sparkling wine, hors d'oeuvres tray, 4 x 7 photograph, 2 T-shirts. Request when you book. Requires proof of marriage.

Wedding Bonus - Includes: bride's bouquet, wedding cake for 10, wedding coordinator's services, decorated ceremony area, 10 photographs, recorded music, civil judge, legal expenses (excluding legalization). Package price: US$590. Price and inclusions subject to change. Arrangements to be made directly with hotel.

Early Booking Bonus - This hotel may offer early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Resort Location Map


  • Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
    La Romana,Dominican Republic

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Playa Dominicus, Bayahibe 22000 Dominican Republic

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.