Villa Mexicana

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Kids
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Overview
Hotel Villa Mexicana features Colonial and Mediterranean architecture which blends with the rustling palms nestling the calm waters of the bay. This quaint resort is located directly on one of the loveliest, most romantic beaches in Mexico. Enjoy a delicious array of international cuisine and a wonderful variety of activities.
 
Location: Located directly on La Ropa Beach, 20 minutes from the Airport, and within walking distance of downtown.

tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • craquelin44 : Montreal, Canada
Don't plan on returning at this price

AI have stayed at the Villa Mexicana for two years in a row and was very happy after my first stay but this year the rates have increased and doubled in my case. I stayed for a week in mid October and paid 200$ dollars per night, completely ridiculous considering that breakfast wasn't even included. This location is perfect and the staff is very nice, the food is great but these changes which they say are because you have a package with drinks included is not well thought of as I did not order one drink, I don't need this service and even if I did, it wouldn't make up for the high cost of the rooms. I read a review from a couple of customers who stayed in May and had the same comments about the prices and the response from the hotel was that they were going to make changes, well 6 months later there were no changes, prices doubles even in low season, not worth it.

  • Cindy J : Bass Lake, California
Outstanding View and Great Service

We checked out this hotel after we found mold on the linens of our previous accommodations. We needed four rooms ASAP for ourselves and three of our kids and their spouses. We were in Zihua to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Villa Mexicana offered us an incredible rate including breakfast and all our adult beverages. We packed up at our first hotel and were back in an hour. It was pre- high season and there were only two other rooms occupied. The second day we were the only people there. It was wonderful. The service staff was very attentive. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was also good. The pool was a perfect temperature and the grounds were well maintained. We all plan to return.

  • C P : Saint Joseph, Michigan
Our Little Paradise

My husband and I have stayed at this beautiful slice of heaven by ourselves and with our group of friends, Spring and Fall. We are returning again in early January, with a group of 8, due to one couple expecting their first grand child in Early March. We usually visit Z first week of March and will miss seeing the Minnesota group whom are regulars as well. It really doesn't matter what time of year you visit this hotel, you will be welcomed by the wonderful staff, excellent and comfortable accommodations, and some of the best meals served at the Dona Restaurant at the hotel. No night life, awesome!Lots of relaxation, laughs, and fun, not to mention the beautiful beach in front of this hotel. Villa Mexicana Hotel has it all. We hope it never changes and keeps the authentic Mexican charm. Sandra has done an amazing job there. We are looking forward to our stay after New Years!

  • Bamboopearl : California
Meals at the restaurant

We went for lunches and dinners and were never disappointed. The waiters and waitresses were super attentive. Nothing was too much to ask... they gladly fixed things that were not even on the menu such as simple cheese enchiladas... oh my goodness... so full of flavor and finesse... we are here for 22 days... when nothing sounded good ... off to Villa Mexicana we went for eats...One other thing on their menu is fish with mushroom and tamarind sauce... awesome!!!

  • Fred G :
Disappointed Repeat Guests

We have been staying at the Villa Mexicana year after year and always have had very enjoyable vacations. The location is perfect and the staff is wonderful (especially Eloisa). The recent rate increases and policy changes (all inclusive drink package, even for non drinkers) seem poorly thought out, poorly planned and implemented. In light of the recent U. S. State Department's warning about tainted alcohol at Mexican Resorts travelers should think twice about "All Inclusive Drink" offers.We are sad to say that we don't plan to stay at the Villa Mexicana again. We are joining the ranks of "former repeat guests".We're already researching and will be booking our stay somewhere else. What a shame....a wonderful place that once was.

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Resort fees (if applicable) must be paid directly to the hotel
  • Hotel transfers for packages to USA
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature
  • 64 rooms
  • Restaurant
  • Beach bar
  • Pools (including children's)
  • Gift shop 
  • Beauty salon 
  • Room service
  • Business centre (fee)
  • Internet access (fee)
  • Golf course nearby at the Marina Ixtapa, or the Palma Real
Hotel Room includes:
  • A/C
  • 2 doubles or 1 king bed
  • telephone
  • TV
  • in-room safety box
  • bathroom with shower only
  • hair dryer
  • room has a garden view
  • Max. occ. 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Kids Deal - 2 Children Stay Free 11 years & under.
Early Booking Bonus - This hotel may offer early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Resort Location Map


  • Villa Mexicana
    Ixtapa,Mexico

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880 Mexico

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.