Riu Santa Fe

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • All Inclusive Features
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Kids
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Our Opinion

Located alongside the Riu Palace Los Cabos, this resort is excellent for couples, families and singles alike. Not too far from the shopping and nightlife of Cabo San Lucas. The beach in front of the resort stretches right into town, but swimming in the ocean here is limited due to strong ocean currents. However, a swim-able area is just a short walk down the beach towards Cabo San Lucas. As a clean, well maintained resort with great service, the Riu Santa Fe is a definite recommendation. Over the years it has been one of our most popular resorts in Cabo.


Overview

Located alongside the exciting Riu Palace Cabos San Lucas, the magnificent Riu Santa Fe is a stunning piece of the Riu Resorts portfolio. The finest details went into creating this extravagant resort, including first rate restaurants, beautiful pool areas and tropical grounds.

Location: Beachfront property, located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 40 km from the airport and 4.5 kms from the town of Cabo San Lucas.


tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • nikay1978 : McDonough, Georgia
Ok Accomodations, Large/Active Resort

This was my yearly vacay with my travel crew and also I took my cousin as a high school graduation present. We booked through a travel agency. The resort is about 40 mins from the airport. The Riu Palace, which where I wanted to stay because the star rating was higher, is within the same complex right next door. They call the Palace a snooze resort and the Santa Fe a more lively and entertaining resort. The lobby and grounds are beautiful and quiet large. So, expect to do a lot of walking. When we arrived, were greeted and seated in what they call a VIP check-in. They gave us margaritas and asked for our passports to check us in. We arrived around almost 2 pm and we were told that our rooms would not be ready until 3 pm. So we waited and ended up falling asleep in the lobby. The front desk is not very efficient and we had to wait a long time to get helped by someone to check on the status and get our room keys. We just wanted to change clothes and hit the pool because it was extremely hot. We took our own luggage to the room because we did not want to wait for a bellman to bring them our rooms. Our room was just the average two bed room and anything hotel. It was supposed to be ocean view but you could only see a smidge of the ocean from a corner of the balcony. The front desk told us that what travel agencies don't tell you is that they don't book rooms by type and we were not guaranteed an oceanview. The pool was really nice and the pool bar by the beach was always popular with everyone. At the larger pool in the center, they have games and activities in the afternoons. There five restaurants and the big buffet is the only one that does not require a reservation. They say you don't need reservations at the other four and to just come at 6:30 and put your name down, which is a reservation. If you are not ready to eat at 6:30 pm then they will give you a later time. They may tell you that they are all booked, but that is not true. So don't take No for an answer, even if you have a large party. We had 14 altogether. They act like they do not understand you and can't speak English. We had to go over their heads a couple of times to the manager of the restaurants. They give you a buzzer and it goes off when your table is ready. We had an incident unbelievable rudeness the last night we were there at the steakhouse and the guy that ran the resort stepped in and resolved the issue and made the employee apologize and gave us free bottles of champagne. The best restaurant on the resort was the Steakhouse. I ate there three times. The next best is the Italian, then the Asian, and last the Mexican. The buffet was not up to par. They had a taco cart outside the buffet in the courtyard every night. The tacos were great. There is entertainment every night, usually so kind of theme. There is a nightclub that opens at like 11 pm and closes at 2 am. The sportsbar stays open 24 hours and has food like hamburgers, hotdogs, and nachos that you can eat if you are hungry late at night. The bar tenders at all the bars are personable and entertaining. DO NOT leave your passport or your valuables in the safe. Someone got theirs stolen when we were there. You can ask for the name brand liquor and drinks are free flowing if you have all inclusive. Overall the resort was an enjoyable atmosphere. Because of the rough current, you will not be able to swim in the ocean. They tell you that you can further down the beach but not really. We were supposed to go on waverunners one day and the Harbor Master closed the port and we were not able to. I don't think I will come back to Los Cabos because you can not swim in the ocean and when it comes to trying to do activities they make it a difficult, stressful process.

  • Melissa G :
Customer Service is Terrible

I stayed here last year (2 rooms) and wasn't overly pleased with the customer service we received; but the atmosphere, entertainment staff and food was great.So when selecting a resort for our family trip (6 PPL/2 rooms) this year I decided to go back. This time 3 ppl missed the flight, I contacted Expedia and they called the hotel directly to let them know 3 of us would arrive on time for the one room and the other 3 would arrive one day behind.Upon arrival my husband let the hotel also know that our flight got messed up and we would be arriving one day late.I had requested 2 rooms next to each other and also building number 7.They said they couldn't accommodate my request bc I wasn't there and was a no-show.They put him in building 2, not 7.When I finally arrived the next day to check in they could not find my reservation and the manager was very curt and basically acted like he did me a favor by reinstating my reservation. Again, I was a repeat customer who had gone thru a very rough few days trying to get there. He would not put our rooms next to each other and would not grant my request for building #7 unless we paid an additional $23 per person per night.Would've been an additional $966.00 for all 6 of us for the week. Last year my two rooms were right next to each other and in building 7 and I did not pay extra. The manager told me if they were full and had to put us there that's a different story.I met plenty of ppl later on during the week that didn't pay extra. So you can imagine my frustration because 3 of my family members were not able to utilize our first day at the hotel and they were not refunding me the one night or trying to make me happy in anyway. The manager's comment to me was I should've become a RIU rewards member. As far as dining they have 4 specialty restaurants that you need to go in person at 6pm to make a reservation. IE: I was 5th in line and when I got up to the front and requested a reservation for 8pm they told me they were sold out. I sent my husband back with $5.00 and guess what we got the reservation for 8pm. It's a shame that we already spent a ton of money to be there and then if you want to eat a decent meal you have to tip each hostess every night. Also, their wait staff isn't helpful you have to beg for coffee in the morning and ask a million times for water. I went to DR twice before and their customer service is outstanding in their resorts. They know your name and what you drink, etc. The best thing about this resort is the entertainment staff they do an excellent job! Unfortunately their front desk manager isn't thinking about the future because he could've easily accommodated me, but chose to dissatisfy me even though I had stayed their prior year. He's obviously not trained in customer service satisfaction. Last thing, please book your excursions thru the hotel, travel agent or expedia because there are people on the beach taking money and selling fake excursions.

  • Julie D : Cleveland, Ohio
Great place!

Stayed here in July with our 2 adult children. So fun, plenty to do. Highly recommend building 7, pay the extra, its worth it. It's the only building that has an elevator and it's close to the ocean and main pool and also the breakfast and lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet is a little smaller then the one in the back but was fine for us. Still had plenty of food. The only time we had to walk to the back of the resort was in the evening for dinner and night time entertainment and it wasn't that very long of a walk. We stayed at the riu palace next door 2 years ago and it was nice as well, palace had better food and alcohol but sante fe was more affordable for four of us. I think sante fe daily entertainment may be a little better for our young adult kids. Had a great time, can't go wrong with either resort.

  • Miranda M : Sunnyvale
Nightmare

Stayed here for a total of 4 days. Overall a very surprisingly bad experience.Arrival: not picturesque by any means - our taxi took us under a freeway bridge through a dirt road to get there. For a second I thought we were being abducted.Check-in: took extra long and the lobby is outdoors so expect to wait in the heat. They serve you a welcome drink that is usually pure sugar/fake juice. The woman checking us in seemed like she kept forgetting her next move - she seemed stressed and not friendly at all. She gave us multiple papers to fill out that I'm not even sure she knew what they were intended for. Also they give you real keys to get into your room which I'm sure is a pain for many people in that you have to keep track of a physical key and if you lose it you probably owe them money. You also get a physical card for the towels at the pool - if you don't turn this card in at the end of the stay it's 300 pesos (close to $20) per card (one pp). Room: extremely outdated with a terrible view of a giant dust field with random construction going on. Not really sure how you call this a "Garden View". The bed literally feels like you're sleeping on a box spring with a 2-inch mattress. Surprisingly I didn't really wake up super sore (as I expected), but some other girls in our party did. They do give you 5 large water bottles per room per every 2 days so I was happy about that. Also, you will hear every single door open and close on your floor - it echoes like crazy. The doors should close on their own, so they don't slam, but you have to do it and usually it's really loud. Sometimes the doors don't even close so you really have to make sure you close it before you head out.Bars: the bartenders are the most rude and careless I've probably ever experienced anywhere. They were slow and many times they were just slowly cleaning up even though there were many people waiting to be served. The drinks were absolutely awful - I couldn't drink the margaritas by the pool because the pre-made mix for them was terrible. I noticed on multiple occasions that the Spanish-speaking patrons would get served first even though we were there first. I had to say "hey I was first" and the bartender just sort of looked at me and took their order anyway. I couldn't really drink much at the resort - drinks were just too terrible.Pools: overall pretty nice. They seemed clean, except for the "swim-up" bar ones where everyone seems to just pee in the pool. I was a little turned off when we were laying in the built-in loungers in the pool and staff came by and began scrubbing build-off on the walls with a broom right next to our heads.Food: it's bad. None of the meat served actually tasted like meat. We waited for the one restaurant that is supposed to be good - the steakhouse, and that was halfway decent. Meat had a good flavor but was so thin we were questioning what cuts of meat (and from what animal) we were actually eating. I actually think I lost weight during this trip because everything was so unappetizing. I can't imagine being extremely hungover and being forced to eat the food. I actually had some bad anxiety towards the end of the trip worried about having to eat at their restaurants any longer. If there's one reason you avoid this establishment altogether, it should probably be because of the food.Overall: they are always cleaning the floors, ALL the time. I don't remember a time where I was walking around and it didn't smell of cleaning supplies and there were "caution slippery floors" signs out. It was actually quite annoying. Not sure why they asked us for our room numbers when we would turn our towels in (we had those cards we had to hang on to) - all of their medieval accounting just seemed fake and pointless. If they had one more giant clipboard to record something they probably actually just throw away and never look at again or tiny piece of paper for us to hang on to I was going to lose it.The only redeeming qualities were that the pools had amazing views and the rooms were very clean. However, I will never, ever stay here again. If I know anyone looking to stay here I will tell them to change their arrangements. The maybe $100-200 you save by staying here is absolutely not worth the misery this place will offer.

  • achambliss09 : Sacramento, California
Anniversary getaway

Not to bad of a place although I wish we would have chosen to stay at the riu palace next door instead. We came to relax and have a getaway from life and our kids and we definitely got that. I really enjoyed the pools and the infinity view that over looked the ocean and a great view of lands end! If your into cocaine you can easily find that and weed on the beach. We were shocked to be offered some within our first few minutes at the resort while we were exploring. Not something we are in to though Haha. I didn't end up drinking much because everything I tried had a weird taste that just wasn't right. When I did drink I ended up feeling terrible and puking within a few hours.The dinners were great I loved the specialty restaurants. The Mexican one was our favorite we went their twice! For breakfast and lunch the same thing was offered everyday. We were on an anniversary trip and it seemed like a younger crowd celebrating bachelor and bachelorette parties and families with small children. There really wasn't any in between! If you do decide to stay here make sure your room is in building 7 or that it faces inward. We had a "garden view room" (1225) and it was a nice view of an abandoned shack and some nasty landscaping. I put a photo here.

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD)if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Hotel transfers for packages with WestJet to USA (with exception to Honolulu)
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature

  • Buffet made to order food stations for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily
  • 24 hr snacks
  • Specialty restaurants for dinner; no reservations required
  • Domestic & Imported beverages
  • In-room mini-bar & liquor dispenser (replenished regularly)
  • Kayaking
  • Volleyball
  • Tennis
  • Gym
  • Sauna and Jacuzzi
  • Towels in the pool area
  • Pool loungers and sun umbrellas
  • Live music & theme shows
  • Daily activities for adults (6 days a week)
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Entrance to disco, drinks included 7 days a week 
  • Restaurants including Italian, Asian, Mexican and Grill Steakhouse 
  • Bars including Lobby bar
  • Disco
  • 2 swimming pools with adjoining Jacuzzi
  • 1 children's swimming pools
  • Terrace-solarium
  • Children's playground
  • Volleyball court
  • Tennis court
  • Gift shop
  • Internet access (fee)
  • WiFi in lobby
  • Gym, sauna & Jacuzzi
  • Spa with different treatments, beauty salon & massage (fee)

All accommodations include:
  • Air-conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Satellite TV
  • Mini bar & liquor dispenser (replenished regularly)
  • In room safe
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Max. occupancy 3 adults & 1 child or 2 adults & 2 children
Hotel Rooms include:
  • 2 double beds
  • Hairdryer
  • Bathroom with tub & shower
Suites include:
  • Larger and beautifully decorated
  • 2 doubles or 1 king bed
  • Small sitting area with sofa
  • Full bathroom with hydro-massage tub
  • Separate shower and bidet
  • Hairdryer
  • Walk-in closet
  • Larger balcony or terrace with Ocean view
Suites with Jacuzzis include:
  • Same as Suites
  • Balcony with private jacuzzi
Kids Deal - Two kids 12 years & under stay and eat free. Limited availability.

Honeymoon Bonus - Surprise welcome gift in your room, King-size bed, Late check-out, and Complimentary upgrade to next available room class. Request at time of booking. Proof of marriage required. Subject to availability and subject to change.

Golf Special - From US$55. Cabo San Lucas Golf at its finest. Challenging 18-hole golf course with expansive fairways in spectacular Cabo San Lucas surroundings at Raven Golf Course. Includes: 18 hole green fee, shared cart, practice golf balls & bottle of water. Local taxes (10%), caddy service, tips and other incidentals are extra. Shuttle service available to & from hotel & golf course (extra charge). For further information about pre-booking tee times call the toll free 1-888-328-8501 from Canada or via email at www.ravengolf.com or locally once you arrive in the destination (first come first served) with a Raven Club agent who is located in the lobby of the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas. Book & pay locally.

Early Booking Bonus - This hotel offers early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Resort Location Map


  • Riu Santa Fe
    Los Cabos,Mexico

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Camino Viejo a San Jose Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410 Mexico

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.