Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa & Beach Club

Resort Map
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • What's Included
  • All Inclusive Features
  • Facilities
  • Accommodations
  • Kids
  • Weddings
  • Bonus
Our Opinion

Located across the street from the beach, however there is a free shuttle that runs every few minutes to the beach. The Hacienda has its own private beach area, but it is small and can get crowded. Clients going to this hotel should know what an excellent spa it has! It's tranquil, peaceful, and beautiful. It even has an authentic "Mexican sauna". The rooms are quaint and cute, and the hotel is built in an old Spanish style (courtyard in the middle.) The pool is a fair size. This hotel offers both all-inclusive and European plan packages. The Hacienda Hotel is a good, authentic Mexico 3 star hotel.


Overview
This colonial-flavoured hotel is located just one block from the beach, where guests enjoy access to a private beach club with open bar and snacks, towels, lounge chairs, beach activities and watersports. It also features an authentic, Aztec inspired spa. The Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel, Spa & Beach Club offers great value and low-key hospitality.
 
Location: 1 block from the beach, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from the airport.

tripadvisor Traveler Reviews
  • Cherylslawwork : Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
TRAMPLED BY A HORSE

I went to this place about 5 years ago for my boyfriends bday. It was a nice place to spend some romantic time, so I thought anyway. The cabin was nice, with a view of the lake. It was December and not very busy from what I remember. We decided to go horseback riding and the horses were beautiful. The stable manager or trail guide, whatever he was, seemed knowledgeable about horses and made us feel comfortable. Once we got on and started riding, he saw I was an advanced rider and said " you can ride any horse you want", and we proceeded on a nice afternoon ride, without incident. The next morning, I choose a gorgeous stallion(I believe), a little spirited but not a problem for me to handle. The ride was going well when we got to an open field, he said "go ahead and run him if you want" I did, but unfortunately there was a hole, covered by leaves and debris, that none of us saw. All of the sudden the horses front legs fell into the hole, I just slid off to the side and thought all was gonna be fine. It wasn't, the horse, scared and possibly hurt, got up and proceeded the trampled me as I lay on the ground trying to cover my head and not get severely or critically injured . Needless to say I was injured pretty bad but could have been a lot worse. Now I have to somehow get back on this horse(both of us terrified and injured) and proceed to a location that a truck can make it to so I can get to the hospital. After about 1 hr ride on the horse and another few hours in our truck, I got to the hospital in Puerto Vallarta and found out I was very lucky that my shoulder or collar bone wasn't broken but I spent 4 days in hospital. The manager offered to pay the bill at the hospital. We told them they wanted $2500 dollars upfront and she said we could come to the resort and they would compensate us with a room and dinner and such. Ok sounds good to me. No one says for how long this offer stands or anything just assume I can use it in the next year or whatever but when I sent emails I never received an answer so I thought they were just not honoring their agreement and kind of forgot about them. Recently I was trying to place a small vacation during my sons summer break and thought about this place. Once again I sent an email, not asking for the "free" room but a short note who I was and what could be a good rate, at least, for a few days there. I did get a response to this email with what seemed like a pretty high price per night, since it's low season, and a little note saying "I'm sorry for your unfortunate accident". Well good to know you're sorry but if you say you're going to do something without saying "you have until this date" to use it, then you should honor that but not all people are honorable I guess. Just be forewarned if an accident occurs there it is a long way until you reach a decent hospital or doctor. Sometimes we don't think about that when we plan our vacation and "unfortunate accident" can and do happen when you least expect it. We will find another place to vacation.

  • IslandDiversHawaii : Oahu, Hawaii
Second trip

We found this place by accident a few years back. Just made our second trip. This time we took advantage of the all inclusive package. Surprise again, all drinks were included, full bar, mexican beers and wines. We were a little nervous as some of the review suggested that the food had gone downhill. Maybe they hit a bad day but our experience was fantastic, maybe even better than the first time. Selection is limited, but at least on choice in most categories. I have mixed feeling about reviewing this place with 5 stars again because I really like that there is not any Americans in the place, so if you are an American you really shouldn't go....Thank god it is hard to get to, 3 hours drive from Puerto Vallarta, 4 wheel drive for the last 16km is recommended, but we did it without (bottomed out a few times). My only suggestion to management is ceiling fans to make a summer trip a little more comfortable at night.

  • BandJinAK : Kodiak Island, Alaska
Superb relaxation, tranquility, quiet.

We had an opportunity to get away from Puerto Vallarta for a quiet, tranquil weekend. Enjoyed the drive up from PV. Fascinated by the changing scenery and the ever-expanding views of Mascota's valley setting as we made our way up the winding road over the rim of the crater.Although neither of us are native speakers, we had fun puzzling over the choices on the menu (went all-inclusive). Although food choices were limited and 'simple country fare' it was very, very good. And the service was excellent.Our little cabin overlooking the lake was small and cozy. We thrilled at watching the night star show, and soaked in the absolute quiet and clean air, listening only to the sounds of nature at night.What could have been a forty minute walk around the paved path along the lake turned into a four-hour plus adventure seeing and photographing many plants, birds and flowers. Each day on our walk we saw something new to appreciate. The many different types of flora and fauna living in the micro-environments of the volcanic crater setting of this resort give rise to fascination and wonder.We really enjoyed our stay, and hope to return again, perhaps in the spring of the year, next time.

  • 422gostan : Seattle, Washington
Peace and Tranquility

This was our 3rd year visiting Sierra Lago, always in April spending between 3 & 4 days. As the previous reviews noted the weakest link at this resort was the food and I agreed. Very happy to report that this has been addressed. Breakfast, lunch and dinner have greatly improved, both in quality and sophistication. The service was sincere and helpful including the reception which had been noted in previous reviews as a challenge. We were greeted with a smile and helpfulness. The grounds and overall mountain environment is the special draw for this resort. It is a place to relax and listen to the "quiet". Yes, the road to get there is a challenge, but that is why it's a special location. Johnathon (server), Patty (reception) Fernado (housekeeping) and Issac (kitchen) helped make the trip great.

  • susansj1948 : Melaque, Mexico
Overall a 4.........but

The place is stunning. The suites...Great! The staff great! Still here; and after 2 meals I give the lunch a 3.5 and the breakfast a 2 based on the sides being cold. We look forward to dinner. Reception is ok but had hoped to have an easier time communicating as our Spanish is poor. The resort website should state that there is almost nothing for those who are mobility impaired and there should be explicit statements to this effect. And I would suggest they offer helicopter service as an option; We feared for our life for many kilometers an this logging road on top of the mountains. We would pay mucho for helicopter service.

Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).

If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.

Items not included:

  • Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
  • Tourist cards ($10USD)if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
  • Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
  • Hotel transfers for packages with WestJet to USA (with exception to Honolulu)
  • Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
  • Items of a personal nature

This hotel is available as All Inclusive plan and European plan (no meals). All Inclusive plan includes:

  • 3 meals daily plus snacks
  • Christmas and New Year's Gala Dinners
  • All drinks (Domestic brands, Domestic beer, House Wine, 10am to 1am)
  • Kayaking
  • Snorkeling
  • Boogie Boards
  • Waterpolo
  • Volleyball
  • Shuffleboard
  • Soccer
  • Daily activities
  • Wedding Package
  • 155 rooms in four 2 or 4-storey buildings
  • 1 buffet restaurant
  • 2 a la carte restaurants (Mediterranean, Mexican), dress code & reservations required
  • Snack bar
  • 3 Bars including Beach bar and Pool bar
  • Room service (fee)
  • Large Pool with lounge chairs
  • Whirlpool
  • Beach Club
  • Boutique
  • Spa
  • Body treatments and massage services (fee)
  • Safety deposit box at reception (fee)
  • Laundry services (fee)
  • Internet (fee)

Hotel Rooms include:

  • 1 king or 2 double beds
  • Air-conditioning
  • Cable TV
  • Bathroom with shower
  • Balcony in most rooms
  • Max occupancy 4 persons

Kids Deals - Available, please inquire for details.

For the Kids - Kids 4-12 enjoy supervised activities daily at the Kids' Club. Babysitting upon availability (fee).

Early Booking Bonus - This hotel offers early booking bonuses at certain times of the year. If early booking bonuses apply to your vacation, prices shown online have already been adjusted accordingly. Please inquire for complete details.

Wedding and Spa Packages - Are available. Inquire for details.

Resort Location Map


  • Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa & Beach Club
    Puerto Vallarta,Mexico

  • Hotel Contacts
  • Extra Info
  • Disclaimer
Sierra Lago Resort & Spa
Lago de Juanacatlan, Mascota 46900 Mexico

Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.

Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.

Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.

Hotels do not condone unruly behavior, parties in rooms, excessive noise or any other actions that violate the hotels terms of use. Guests may be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff. Escapes.ca cannot be held responsible for any guests who may be removed from the hotel due to a violation of rules.

Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.