Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
- What's Included
This is a condo style rental, fully furnished with fully equipped kitchen. No air condition. Change of linens and towels 3 times per stay. There is a shopping place across the street plus other shops near by ( 5-10 minutes od driving). Poipu beach is less than 1 km with a good snorkling opportunities and a baby pond. The beach is good for swimming, not very high waves. Good place to stay, also with small kids.
My husband and I spent 6 nights at Kiahuna Plantation Resort (unit 198). We were as close to the beach as you could get and the main reason we made the reservation. Quick summary review below:Unit: Previous reviews said the unit was "dated" but we didn't have any issues with that. We did have issues when we saw a mouse!!!! running across the living room. I was not happy at all and the management company only put out glue traps. Nothing like spending your vacation in fear that you are going to find a mouse stuck to a glue trap every time you walk in the door. There was no follow-up and no apology for rodents. It's tropical so I can expect bugs and humidity but not rodents! They completely dropped the ball here.Check-in: no keys when we checked in and had to call three times before anyone at the management company responded. Again, no apology and not a great way to start.Beach: beach was clean and very nice. Surf was great to swim in and the waves were awesome.Parking: limited. There is very limited parking in front of the units so you almost always have to walk.A/C: no air conditioning in the unit. It was really hot and fairly uncomfortable during the day but cooled off at night. There were fans but probably should have been clearer that A/C was not available especially for those people visiting in August.Pool: pool is at the athletic center across the street. One word: Yuck. Saw it and kept going.Athletic Center: located across the street. Excepting the pool, this was a very nice facility. Tennis courts and equipment were in great shape and easy to get court times. Gym equipment was in good condition and new. Not overcrowded. Bar/casual restaurant available on-site. No additional fees for the athletic center general activities and admission.Restaurants: didn't visit the Kiahuna restaurant, but the RedSalt restaurant next door was fantastic! We went twice.Grills: the grills at the resort were pristine. I am actually giving the review 4 stars instead of 3 start simply because of the grills. We grilled 2 nights and loved it.Location: We drove all over the island. I'm not sure if there is a best location but we had no complaints with the Kiahuna in this department.Ground: grounds were well maintained and manicured.Beach equipment and Towels: never a problem to get a towel or beach equipment. Close to the beach and easy to use.All in all we would return to the resort because it met our needs with respect to outdoor grilling, beach and tennis. Was not at all happy with the rodent issue or with the response from the management company.
First of all we found a great value for this hotel, which included air fare and car rental. We visited in September, I had researched for summer months and there was significant price difference for a family traveling on a budget. We had a one bedroom condo overlooking the gardens. The property itself is breathtaking beautiful, full of tropical lush everywhere. The unit we got the night we checked in was in the 3rd level even though it was #230. The parking lot is quite dark so he map given to us was very helpful to find the building. The front desk girl was very warm and accommodating. Unfortunately probably due to being on the 3 floor and being our first night the heat and humidity was unbearable, we knew in advance there was no air conditioning. She did offered to switch to a 1st level unit but we were exhausted to switch that night and our 4 year old was already asleep. They sent probably a total of 4 fans for us and we made it through the night. The next morning first thing I asked to go check out that 1st floor unit and it made a huge difference. Both condos were laid out the same but being on the 1st floor really allowed the unit to be cooler and also the second unit had no carpet. Whether it was the height or the carpet vs tile, we were grateful to not sweat all night and be very comfortable the remaining 5 nights. When we switched condos, they said they would bring our suitcases and we returned at 10pm or so that night and our belongings were still at the 1st unit, I'm not sure if it was a lack of communication or just "island time" anyway those there the only bad experiences. I must say on both occasions the staff was accommodating and gracious. The units may need a little update but they were clean and spacious, especially if traveling with littles. We had a king size bed, a sofa bed in the living area, an inside dining area, a fully equipped kitchen and a lanai (balcony) where we had breakfast every day. In addition, we were located right across the parking lot from the laundry building so got to do our laundry too. We throughly enjoyed our stay and we got a gift basket with local goodies after our bag transfer being delayed. Our needs were met every time. Another plus is all the shopping and dining options very close, some within walking distance. The beachfront was also very nice.
Condo style rental that is set in a tranquil and serene location. With great grass areas that lead windingly down to the beach. We stayed in block 41 which is in the north east corner of the grounds. There is a golf caddy service available to take you to and from the reception, bar and restaurant. The interiors are clean & stocked with kitchen & bath items. They do not offer air conditioning but do include fans in the lounge and bedroom areas. The ocean in front is nice to swim in but mainly we used the pool facilities across the road. In easy waking distance there is Poipu Shopping plaza across the street with restaurants & a small market. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is that place.
Condo style rental that is serene with great grass areas to the beach. We've stayed in different units a number of times. The interiors are always clean & stocked with kitchen & bath items. They do not offer air conditioning but do include fans. The ocean in front is nice to swim in. There is Poipu Shopping plaza across the street with restaurants & a small market. We'll keep going back for relaxation.
Vacations packages include round-trip flights, accommodations, round-trip transfers (unless outlined below) to and from the hotel, and tourist cards (if required, unless outlined below).
If selecting an all-inclusive resort option, the package will also include the all-inclusive features as outlined by each resort.
Items not included:
- Travel insurance (mandatory if traveling to Cuba)
- Tourist cards ($10USD)if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing Airlines
- Departure taxes ($20USD) if traveling to Dominican Republic with Sunwing or Signarture Vacations
- Hotel transfers for packages with WestJet to USA (with exception to Honolulu)
- Hotel transfers for packages to Europe
- Items of a personal nature
- 333 Suites in two-storey buildings
- Hot tub
- 2 restaurants
- Tennis court
- Kids club (fee)
- Laundry facilities (fee)
- 1 king or 1 queen and 2 twin beds and sofa bed
- Ceiling fan
- DVD player
- Fully equipped kitchen
- Hair dryer
- In-room safe
- Iron/ironing board
Resort Location Map
Outrigger Kiahuna PlantationLihue,United States
- Hotel Contacts
- Extra Info
2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Some restaurants may be open for certain meals only and limited visits may apply. Reservations required and dress code in effect for a la carte restaurants. Time restrictions may apply for water sports.
Child pricing may only be available with select tour operators and valid for select dates and durations. Child pricing rules are subject to change without notice. Please contact one of our vacation specialists if you require assistance with child pricing.
Photo identification and/or credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.
Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges upon check-in to fulfil.
Escapes.ca makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, however, all information on this page is subject to change without notice. Escapes.ca is not responsible for any changes, errors or omissions that may occur.